The treatment
course

The pre-operative consultation

You have an initial appointment with your surgeon. In the vast majority of cases, your attending doctor sends a letter containing your medical background or history of the condition with the various treatments implemented. This letter is accompanied by additional examinations, at least X-rays and ultrasound, sometimes arthro-CT or MRI.

The objective of this first consultation is to take stock of your pathology by learning your full history through precise questioning, complete clinical examination of your joint mobility, testing your tendons and muscle, examining laxity, and obtaining clinical scores to objectively quantify your discomfort.

This clinical examination, along with analysis of your additional examinations, will enable your surgeon to offer you specific care: rehabilitation, injections, in-depth examinations, or sometimes surgical indications proposed from the outset (repeated shoulder dislocations, traumatic cuff rupture, complete file with failure of correctly performed medical treatment).

Sometimes a second or even third consultation is needed to analyse the prescribed examinations, seek an improvement following the proposed medical treatments, and review the evolution of your symptoms. Before any surgical decision, a period of reflection is essential, since postoperative recovery lasts several weeks, even several months, and requires rehabilitation and a period of sick leave, which has to be longer for manual activities.

Sometimes there is no other alternative but surgical treatment. This decision is made in consultation between surgeon and patient, in the form of an verbal agreement: you agree to accept the instructions given to you so that your recovery is as quick and simple as possible. It is a team effort where you are at the heart of the care. We do everything we can to ensure that you receive optimal treatment before the surgery, during hospitalisation and after the surgery. Once this decision is made, our assistants will take care of the clinical path: making an appointment with the anaesthesiologist and with one of our physiotherapists for a preoperative training session, and fixing the procedure date according to our timeframes and your preferences.

Anesthesia Consultation

A surgery is scheduled. This surgery requires anaesthesia, with a minimum delay of 48 hours between the anaesthesia consultation and surgery, except for emergencies.

1/ The aim of this examination is to eliminate a formal contraindication to anaesthesia.
To do this, the anaesthesiologist will conduct a thorough examination of your medical and surgical history, if you have ever been placed under anaesthesia. They will check for allergies and chronic illnesses and analyse your usual drug treatment – anything that could change the usual anaesthesia protocol. This questioning will be complemented by a clinical examination with analysis of your vital signs (breathing, cardiac, etc.). When they deem it necessary, the anaesthesiologist may prescribe an additional assessment, such as a blood test or a chest X-ray. Finally, the anaesthesiologist may also request a specialist consultation in certain cases, e.g. with a cardiologist.

The other objective will be to explain the anaesthesia method to you:
For a large number of surgery, the anaesthesiologist will offer you locoregional anaesthesia coupled with general anaesthesia. This allows a very effective analgesic effect in the postoperative period, because today we know that if the patients have almost no pain when they wake up, they will also have very little in the following days. This type of multimodal anaesthesia has been practised for many years at the Saint Grégoire Private Hospital, and has made it possible to develop outpatient care: cuff repairs, graft-type stabilisation of the shoulder, and a large majority of elbow procedures thus do not require overnight stays in the facility, because pain and anaesthesia-related disorders such as nausea and vomiting are avoided.

Your
hospitalisation

Depending on the type of intervention and the schedule, your hospitalization may be either outpatient or conventional.

Post-operative follow-up

The follow-up will be done on our premises, by your surgeon and your physiotherapist.

Le parcours
de soin

La consultation
pré-opératoire

Vous avez un premier rendez-vous avec votre chirurgien. Dans la grande majorité des cas, votre médecin traitant adresse un courrier où figurent vos antécédents et votre anamnèse ou histoire de la maladie avec les différents traitements mis en œuvre. Ce courrier est accompagné d’examens complémentaires, au minimum radiographies et échographie, parfois arthro-scanner ou IRM.

L’objectif de cette première consultation est de faire un état des lieux sur votre pathologie, en reprenant tout l’historique par un interrogatoire précis, un examen clinique complet de vos mobilités articulaires, testing de vos tendons et muscle, examen de laxité,  réalisation de scores cliniques pour quantifier objectivement votre gêne.

Cet examen clinique, ainsi que l’analyse de vos examens complémentaires, vont permettre à votre chirurgien de vous proposer une prise en charge spécifique : rééducation, infiltrations, réalisation d’examens approfondis, ou parfois indication chirurgicale proposée d’emblée (luxations d’épaules à répétition, rupture traumatique de coiffe, dossier complet avec échec du traitement médical bien conduit).

Parfois, une seconde voire troisième consultations sont nécessaires pour analyser les examens prescrits, rechercher une amélioration suite aux traitements médicaux proposés, refaire le point sur l’évolution de votre symptomatologie. Avant toute décision chirurgicale, une période de réflexion s’impose, puisque la récupération postopératoire dure plusieurs semaines, voire plusieurs mois, nécessitant de la rééducation et une période d’arrêt de travail, forcément plus longue pour les activités dites manuelles.

Parfois, il n’y a pas d’autre alternative que le traitement chirurgical. Cette prise de décision se fait entre chirurgien et patient, sous forme d’un contrat oral : vous vous engagez à accepter les consignes qui vous sont données, afin que votre récupération soit la plus rapide et la plus simple possible. Il s’agit d’un travail en équipe où vous êtes au coeur de cette prise en charge. Nous mettons tout en œuvre pour que votre encadrement préopératoire, pendant l’hospitalisation et postopératoire soit optimal. Dès lors que cette décision est prise, nos assistantes s’occuperont du chemin clinique : prise de rdv avec l’anesthésiste, avec un de nos kinésithérapeutes pour une séance de formation pré-opératoire, et la date d’intervention sera fixée , selon nos délais et vos préférences.

La Consultation
d’Anesthésie

Une opération est programmée. Cette intervention chirurgicale nécessite une anesthésie, avec un délai au minimum de 48H entre la consultation d’anesthésie et la chirurgie, hormis dans le cadre des urgences.

1/ Le but de cet examen est d’éliminer une contre indication formelle à l’anesthésie.
Pour cela, l’anesthésiste va procéder à un interrogatoire approfondi de vos antécédents médicaux et chirurgicaux, si vous avez déjà été endormi. Il va rechercher des allergies, des maladies chroniques et analyser votre traitement médicamenteux habituel, tout ce qui pourraient modifier le protocole habituel d’anesthésie. Cet interrogatoire sera complété par un examen clinique avec analyse de vos constantes, et des grandes fonctions physiologiques (respiration, cardiaque, etc). Lorsqu’il le jugera nécessaire, l’anesthésiste pourra vous prescrire un bilan complémentaire, comme une prise de sang, ou une radiographie pulmonaire. Enfin, l’anesthésiste pourra également demander une consultation spécialisée dans certains cas, comme une consultation chez un cardiologue.

2/ L’autre objectif sera de vous expliquer la modalité d’anesthésie :
Pour un grand nombre d’interventions, l’anesthésiste vous proposera une anesthésie loco-régionale couplée à une anesthésie générale. Cela permet un effet antalgique très efficace en postopératoire, car aujourd’hui on sait que si le patient n’a quasiment pas de douleurs à son réveil, alors il en aura très peu même les jours suivants. Ce type d’anesthésie multimodale est pratiquée depuis de nombreuses années au CHP de St-Grégoire, et a permis de développer la prise en charge en ambulatoire : les réparations de coiffe, les stabilisations de l’épaule de type butée, et une grande majorité des interventions du coude ne nécessitent ainsi pas de passer de nuits dans l’établissement, car le traitement de la douleur et des troubles liés à l’anesthésie comme les nausées-vomissements sont parfaitement prévenus.

Votre
hospitalisation

Selon le type d'intervention et l'horaire, votre hospitalisation pourra être faite soit en ambulatoire , soit en conventionnelle.

Suivi
post-opératoire

Le suivi se fera dans nos locaux, par votre chirurgien et votre kinésithérapeute.